The History of Wodonga Men’s Shed

A discussion took place over coffee In March 2008 with Alec Thompson and Ken Farrar to discuss the possibility of commencing a Wodonga Men’s Shed (WMS). In February 2009 the inaugural meeting of the WMS was held 80 people interested parties attended, as a result the initial management committee was formed comprising of Ken Farrar (Chairman), Ron Lutton (Secretary), Robert Voss (Treasurer).

In early 2009 with the support of the Wodonga Council and Upper Murray Family Care the WMS were offered the use of Emerald House located at 20 Emerald Avenue West Wodonga.

In June 2009 the WMS became an incorporated body and later that year received a grant of $8500.00 from the Wodonga City Council to erect a workshop in the backyard of Emerald House. With an expanding membership base of 60 members the existing facilities is no longer viable. In January, 2016 a new shed fundraising committee was established to raise the funds required to build a purpose built shed on land to be supplied by the Wodonga Council.

The purpose behind the new shed project is to:

1. Increase our space and capacity to offer a broader range of projects and activities to our members
2. Continue to increase our membership base
3. Build a multi-purpose facility to cater for the needs of other community organisations

In September, 2016 the Wodonga Mens Shed (WMS) secured a grant from the Victorian Government for $60,000 under the “strengthening mens shed program”. In December 2016 WMS secured a lease with the Wodonga Council over land located in Jamieson Court West Wodonga.

The Fundraising Committee in January 2017 embarked on the second stage of the Project being the Building Fit Out Lanscaping and Equipment purchase. Following the success of our second stage Fundraising Program the New Purpose Built Facility at Jamieson Court is nearing completion.

The re-location from the existing site at 20 Emerald Avenue is scheduled for the End of October 2017 with the Official Opening at Jamieson Court set for early December 2017.